Enric Palomar

Born in Badalona (Barcelona),​​ 1964

Accésit in the X Composition Contest of the Generalitat de Catalunya for Interludio Alegórico (Allegorical Interlude) (tribute to Claude Debussy). He has written numerous chamber works for various groups and soloists, including the chamber operas Ruleta, ópera para un fin de siglo (Roulette, opera for the turn of the century) and Juana, the Mad Queen, based on the life of Juana I of Castile, premiered at the Oper Halle, Germany, in 2005, with subsequent performances at the Teatre Romea, Barcelona, ​​and at the Staatstheater Darmstadt, Germany.

Foto ©Teresa Peyrí

He is a creator quite close to the world of jazz and popular music, especially flamenco, fields in which he has been very active as composer, arranger and musical director. Among his other works, Lorca al piano is of note, as well as his composition Poemas del exilio based on texts by Rafael Alberti, performed by the new flamenco singer Miguel Poveda, who in 2004 received the Ciutat de Barcelona Award for this work.

The Gran Teatre del Liceu commissioned him to compose the opera La Cabeza del Bautista, based on the work of the same name by Valle-Inclán with which he made his debut at the Barcelona Teatre del Liceu on April 20, 2009, produced by Òpera de Butxaca i Nova Creació.

He has composed the symphonic ballet Negro Goya (based on the last creative period of the painter), commissioned by the Spanish National Ballet, with choreography by José Antonio and premiered at the Granada International Music and Dance Festival in 2011. In 2011 he premiered the cantata Beceroles (Dawns) and his first Piano Concerto with Iván Martín as soloist, both works commissioned by the Barcelona Auditorium. In 2013 he premiered the cantatas Nunca los daré por muertos  (I will never give them up for dead) and Geografía Espriu (Espriu Geography) and a year later he debuted in Berlin with the opera Bazaar Cassandra at the Neuköllner Oper, an ÒBNC production. In 2015 he premiered two ballets, Bodas de Sangre and Las Moiras. During 2016-17 he composed a specific collection of works for the Barcelona Clarinet Players quartet: El Maleficio de la mariposaÉgloga and Epigramas Nazaríes. After the premiere of the Concerto for Orchestra, commissioned by the Staatskapelle Halle (Germany), as the closing work of the season on the 10th anniversary of its refoundation, he was named Artist in Residence at that same organisation, premiering the ballet Inferno and the choreographic poem Toxiuh Molpilia in the 2017-18 season.

His debut in the USA took place with the premiere of Concierto de Granada (Granada Concerto) for guitar and orchestra, with Sharon Isbin as soloist. The Réquiem por el cantaor de los poetas (Requiem for the singer of the poets), dedicated to the memory of Enrique Morente, was commissioned by the Barcelona Auditorium, where it premiered in November 2017.

Since 2014 Enric Palomar has been living in Berlin.

Works Editorial Mondigromax:

JUANA– Opera in three acts
NEGRO GOYA– Ballet in one act 
BAZAAR CASSANDRA. Opera with prolog and one act
HOMENAJE A MANUEL DE FALLA – Violin, double bass and piano
INTRODUCCIÓ I BAILETE– Cobla and string orchestra
NANA DE LA CIGÜEÑA– Voice and piano
SALOMÉ. Monolog – Voice and piano
THAMAR Y AMNÓN– Choreographic fantasy
PIANO CONCERTO. Piano and orchestra 
BECEROLES. (ALBORADAS). Cantata for narrator, two solo voices, children’s choir and instrumental group
LAS MOIRAS– Ballet in one act


Raquel García-Tomás

Foto: ©Teresa Peyri

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies